Rod Stewart - The Great American Songbook Volume II

Rod Stewart - The Great American Songbook Volume II

Rod Stewart
The Great American Songbook Volume II


01. Time After Time
02. I’m In The Mood For Love
03. Don’t Get Around Much Anymore
04. Bewitched, Bothered & Bewildered (Duet with Cher)
05. 'Till There Was You
06. Until The Real Thing Comes Along
07. Where Or When
08. Smile
09. My Heart Stood Still
10. Someone To Watch Over Me
11. As Time Goes By (Duet with Queen Latifah)
12. I Only Have Eyes For You
13. Crazy She Calls Me
14. Our Love Is Here To Stay

MP3 | 128Kbps | RAR 41.70 Mb

Download: Rod Stewart - The Great American Songbook Volume II

At least Rod Stewart is consistent. Long accused by critics of selling his considerable interpretative talents short and playing it safe for the trappings of fame, Stewart revisits the font of his latest career revival here. But while 2002's It Had To Be You at least turned on the novelty of hearing raspy Rod the Mod tackle a slate of American pop standards with a boozy, world-weary tone that sometimes reinforced the originals' intent with trans-generational flair, the British rock icon unfortunately reverted to form a year later on this 14-track sequel. Set against the laconic, cocktail-friendly productions of vets Richard Perry and Phil Ramone, Stewart's performances seem strangely detached throughout. Even when offered the chance at some real human interaction on a pair of ill-conceived duets with Cher (who at least attempts to bring some dramatic flair to "Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered") and Queen Latifah (whose recent turn in Chicago informs the title track), Stewart seems almost blissfully unaware of their presence. These are songs that virtually demand to be acted out, not phoned in. Brilliant vocal performances often reinforce the notion of "the singer, not the song;" here that old adage sounds more like a suggestion of where to place the blame for this album's disappointments.

Другие альбомы:
Rod Stewart - It Had To Be You…
Rod Stewart - The Great American Songbook III
Rod Stewart - The Great American Songbook IV

Оставить комментарий

Ваш первый комментарий модерируется, поэтому появится не сразу.
Комментарии со ссылками проходят модерацию обязательно.
Комментарии, где в поле имени прописан ключевик, реклама, слоганы — удаляются.